Union cancels 2020-21 season

The eighth team has left the ECAC for the 2020-21 season as Union announced their hockey teams will not play this season due to the pandemic.

The university has has low positive rate numbers on campus, and they said in the release that the safety measures - social distancing and not allowing visitors to campus namely, put in place that have helped them achieve that would be in jeopardy by playing hockey, a reasonable and understandable assumption.

This is leaves only four teams in the ECAC - Clarkson, Quinnipiac, Colgate, and St. Lawrence.

The six Ivy League schools were the first to cancel their season on Nov. 12. RPI announced they would not play yesterday.

Elsewhere in college hockey, only Hockey East and WCHA have announced plans to return to play. Hockey East released a conference-only schedule with 18-games per team set to begin on Nov. 20. WCHA announced the first month of their schedule also to start on Nov. 20.

2020-21 NCAA season tracker