clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

ECAC releases 2020-21 league season schedule

The conference has currently been playing non-league games.

NCAA HOCKEY: MAR 18 Women’s - Division I Championship - Clarkson v Colgate Photo by David Berding/Icon Sportswire via Getty Images

The ECAC announced they will start the league portion of their 2020-21 season on Jan. 9, 2021.

Clarkson, Colgate, Quinnipiac, and St. Lawrences are the only four teams left in the conference for the season. Each team will play the others four times for a total of 12 games each.

The teams will play a single-elimination championship at campus sites on March 5 - 7. The winners will receive an automatic bid to the National Tournament, assuming one is held in a season where there seems to be more cancelled and postponed games than ones played.

Fans will not be allowed in the rinks, but the ECAC streams games on ESPN+ ($) for domestic fans or Stretch Internet for international fans.

Currently, ECAC teams are playing non-league games which includes conference and non-conference opponents. Quinnipiac has one out of conference opponent in 2021 as well.

Eight teams opted not to play during the pandemic. The six Ivy League school - Brown, Cornell, Dartmouth, Harvard, Princeton, and Yale - were the first to make the decision not to play, followed by RPI and Union.