Wisconsin wins 2021 National Championship, 2-1

Check out all of the goals in the incredibly exciting overtime win.

On Wisconsin! For a record-tying sixth time, the Wisconsin Badgers are the Division 1 National Champions after they beat Northeastern 2-1 in overtime. They are now tied with Minnesota for most title wins in program history. This is the second time the Badgers have  won consecutive championships as they are the reigning champions from 2019.

It took an extra three minutes for a winner to be crowned after an extremely even and face-paced regulation.

Zero goals were scored in the first 45 minutes of the game, before two were scored in less than 60 seconds about halfway through the third period. It was a frenetic ending to regulation with posts hit, good chances, and big saves, but that would be all until overtime.

WISCONSIN GOAL: Makenna Webster (EV) from Casey O’Brien at 11:00 in the 3rd period
Wisconsin 1, Northeastern 0

NORTHEASTERN GOAL: Chloé Aurard (EV) from Alina Mueller and Brooke Hobson at 11:39 in the third period
Wisconsin 1, Northeastern 1

WISCONSIN GOAL: Daryl Watts (EV) from Nicole Lamantia at 3:16 of overtime.

Wisconsin 2, Northeastern 1