Top-Three Finalists For Patty Kazmaier Award Announced

Two forwards from Wisconsin and a forward out of Cornell headline the finalists for the Patty Kazmaier Award.

Top-Three Finalists For Patty Kazmaier Award Announced
Izzy Daniel following the ECAC Quarterfinals against Quinnipiac March 2. (Photo featured @CornellWHockey on X/formerly Twitter)

The USA Hockey Foundation announced the top three choices for the highest individual award in women's college hockey, the Patty Kazmaier Award, Wednesday afternoon.

Kirsten Simms and Casey O'Brien of Wisconsin and Izzy Daniel from Cornell are the three players up for the prestigious award, with the winner to be announced during Frozen Four weekend.

Simms and O'Brien went 1-2 in scoring nationally this season, with 71 and 69 points respectively while heading a dominant Badgers squad. Wisconsin, who won last year's national championship, is in a very good position to defend that title this season, with a roster full of double-digit point scorers and Team USA talent.

Daniel, meanwhile, tallied a career-high 20 goals and 55 points for the Cornell Big Red, good enough to name her ECAC Player of the Year. Cornell maintained a top-10 presence in the national rankings for most of the regular season and looks to extend their postseason this weekend against Stonehill in the first round of Regionals.

The winner will be announced March 23. They will follow in the footsteps of previous winners such as Sophie Jaques (2023) and Taylor Heise (2022), who are now in the PWHL.