Top 3 Finalists in 2020 Patty Kazmaier Award announced

Three forwards make up the finalists

USA Hockey announced the Top 3 Finalists for the 2020 Patty Kazamier Award today. They are junior forward Élizabeth Giguère from Clarkson, sophomore forward Alina Müller from Northeastern, and senior forward Abby Roque from Wisconsin.

This was the second year Giguere and Muller were top 10 finalists, and it is each finalist’s first time in the Top 3.

Giguère currently leads the nation in goals with 36 and is second in the nation in points with 65. Müller is tied for fourth - with Roque and others - in goals with 25. Her 60 points is far and away the highest on her team. Roque’s 57 points has her at seventh in the nation.

While all three are deserving to be Top 3 finalists, people on Twitter were shocked to not see 2017 winner Daryl Watts as one of them. The sophomore forward at Wisconsin is averaging 2.15 points per game and having a tremendous first season as a Badger.

Last year, Loren Gabel won. The winner will be announced on March 21 as part of the Frozen Four weekend in Boston.

2020 Patty Kazmaier Memorial Award Top 10 Finalists announced