Team Canada announces centralization roster ahead of 2018 PyeongChang Olympics

Hockey Canada announced the 28 players who will centralize in Calgary leading up to the 2018 Olympic Games in PyeongChang

Yesterday, Hockey Canada announced their coaching staff for the national team ahead of the 2018 Olympic Games in PyeongChang, South Korea. Today, they announced the roster that would centralize in Canada ahead of those same Games.

Twenty-eight players will live and practice in Calgary ahead of the Olympics, much in the same way that the United States women’s program does.

Those players were finally announced today, and the roster that made the first cut is:

Forwards: Marie-Philip Poulin, Natalie Spooner, Caroline Ouellette, Brianne Jenner, Rebecca Johnston, Meghan Agosta, Jennifer Wakefield, Bailey Bram, Haley Irwin, Emily Clark, Blayre Turnbull, Sarah Potomak, Laura Stacey, Mélodie Daoust, Sarah Nurse, Amy Potomak, Jillian Saulnier,

Defense: Renata Fast, Lauriane Rougeau, Erin Ambrose, Jocelyne Larocque, Meaghan Mikkelson, Halli Kryzaniak, Laura Fortino, Micah Hart, Brigette Lacquette

Goaltenders: Shannon Szabados, Ann-Renée Desbiens, Genevieve Lacasse

Alternates: Emerance Maschmeyer, Erica Howe

Notably missing from the roster are players like Jess Jones, Tara Watchorn, Ann-Sophie Bettez (glares at Hockey Canada) and Jamie Lee Rattray. You can view Canada’s roster from the 2017 Worlds here.

Laura Schuler and staff have a lot to prove

As alternates, Maschmeyer and Howe will remain with their club teams.

Canada’s centralization will begin full-time in August at WinSport’s Canada Olympic Park. The final 23-player roster is scheduled to be determined in late December.