Johnston, Poulin, and Spooner nominees for CWHL MVP

Three veteran forwards are the finalists for the CWHL’s 2019 MVP

Yesterday, the CWHL announced the nominees for the 2019 CWHL MVP.

Rebecca Johnston of the Calgary Inferno, Marie-Philip Poulin of Les Canadiennes de Montréal, and Natalie Spooner are this year’s nominees.

Johnston, 29, won the MVP award in 2015, but put up even bigger numbers this year. The Inferno’s star forward finished the regular season with 15 goals and 24 assists to lead the regular season champion Inferno in scoring. She had seven more points than Calgary’s next top-scorer — Brianne Jenner — and was a difference-maker all season long for the Inferno. This was the most productive season of Johnston’s amazing CWHL career.

Poulin, 27, was the MVP and the Jayna Hefford Trophy winner in 2016 and 2017, but missed the 2017-18 CWHL season because she was centralized with Team Canada. Poulin was a force of nature this season for Montréal. In addition to leading the league in scoring with 50 points in 26 games, Poulin also buried six game-winning goals this year. She was consistently brilliant and was kept out of the box score just five times in the regular season.

This would be Spooner’s first MVP award if she edges out her Team Canada teammates. Spooner, 28, has always been counted among the sport’s elite forwards and this year she reminded us why. Her 15-goal, 11-assist effort in the regular season helped Toronto return to the playoffs. There were seven skaters in the league who finished with more points than the Furies’ captain, but her production at even strength and chemistry with Sarah Nurse carried Toronto this year.

The winner of this year’s CWHL MVP award will be announced on March 22 at the 2019 CWHL Award Show.

Previous CWHL MVPs

  • 2018 | Kelli Stack, Kunlun Red Star
  • 2017 | Marie-Philip Poulin, Les Canadiennes de Montréal
  • 2016 | Marie-Philip Poulin, Les Canadiennes de Montréal
  • 2015 | Rebecca Johnston, Calgary Inferno
  • 2014 | Ann-Sophie Bettez, Les Canadiennes de Montréal
  • 2013 | Hilary Knight, Boston Blades
  • 2012 | Meghan Agosta, Les Canadiennes de Montréal
  • 2011 | Caroline Ouellette, Les Canadiennes de Montréal
  • 2010 | Sabrina Harbec, Les Canadiennes de Montréal
  • 2009 | Caroline Ouellette, Les Canadiennes de Montréal
  • 2008 | Jayna Hefford, Brampton Thunder/