PHF reveals nominees for major individual awards

The PHF has begun its voting process for its five major individual awards for the 2021-22 season. Media members, broadcasters, and content creators will be voting on the league’s MVP, Best Defender, Best Goaltender, Newcomer of the Year, and the recipient of the Denna Laing Award. For those who aren’t aware, the Denna Laing Award recognizes the player who most exemplifies the qualities of perseverance, sportsmanship, and dedication to their sport.

This year, each PHF team selected its own nominees for each award — which has added a new wrinkle to the voting process including the fact that we don’t have multiple nominees from the same team for any individual award.

Reigning MVP, Mikyla Grant-Mentis is not a finalist for the 2022 MVP. Instead, the Toronto Six chose team captain Shiann Darkangelo as its nominee MVP. Shannon Turner and Tori Howran are also not in the conversation for Defender of the Year because Allie Munroe is the Connecticut Whale nominee for that award.

Here are our finalists:

Most Valuable Player

Taylor Wenczkowski (BOS)

Dominique Kremer (BUF)

Kennedy Marchment (CTW)

Madison Packer (MET)

Allie Thunstrom (MIN)

Shiann Darkangelo (TOR)

Defender of the Year

Amanda Boulier (BOS)

Dominique Kremer (BUF)

Allie Munroe (CTW)

Kristen Barbara (MET)

Patti Marshall (MIN)

Lindsay Eastwood (TOR)

Goaltender of the Year

Katie Burt (BOS)

Carly Jackson (BUF)

Abbie Ives (CTW)

Brooke Wolejko (MET)

Amanda Leveille (MIN)

Elaine Chuli (TOR)

Newcomer of the Year

Kali Flanagan (BOS)

Anjelica Diffendal (BUF)

Taylor Girard (CTW)

Nora Maclaine (MET)

Patti Marshall (MIN)

Taylor Davison (TOR)

Denna Laing Award

Victoria Hanson (BOS)

Elena Orlando (BUF)

Mariah Fujimagari (CTW)

Kendall Cornine (MET)

Jonna Curtis (MIN)

Tori Charron (TOR)

Buffalo Beauts defender Dominique Kremer is one of two players nominated for more than one major award — Defender of the Year and MVP. No Beaut has ever won MVP and it is worth noting that Carly Jackson won the Beauts’ internal award as MVP. Minnesota Whitecaps defender Patti Marshall is up for Defender of the Year and Newcomer of the Year, making her the other player up for two awards.

The race for Defender of the Year and Goaltender of the Year could really come down to the wire this year. This could mark the first time that a Connecticut Whale wins MVP. With Grant-Mentis out of the conversation, one has to imagine that Kennedy Marchment is the clear favorite.

In addition to the five major individual awards, voting has also begun for the Fans’ Three Stars of the Season and is open through Tuesday, May 17th. Finally, the winners of the PHF Foundation Awards will also be announced with all other award winners on Thursday during an interactive PHF broadcast on which will air at 7 p.m. ET.