Aerin Frankel wins 2021 Patty Kazmaier Award

An awards sweep for the Northeastern goaltender

Aerin Frankel won the 2021 Patty Kazmaier Memorial Award, USA Hockey announced today on NHL Network.

Frankel, a senior goaltender from Northeastern, had an insane .810 goals against average and a .965 save percentage, leading the nation in both categories by a wide margin. She recorded nine shutouts as the Huskies went 22-2-1 on the season, with their first loss coming in their first game of the season and the second loss coming in the National Championship game.

In addition to being named the best player in women’s college hockey, Frankel also unanimously won the inaugural Women’s College Hockey Goalie of the Year Award.

The announcement was made during an hour long show on NHL Network, made even more special by the fact that Northeastern alumna Kendall Coyne Schofield, the 2016 Patty Kazmaier Award Winner, presented it.

She is the fourth goaltender to the win in the history of the award, joining Ann-Renee Desbiens (2017), Jessie Vetter (2009), and Ali Brewer (2000).