Montréal Names Leadership Group

Captain Canada is the first franchise captain for PWHL Montreal.

Montréal Names Leadership Group
Marie-Philip Poulin, center, has been named the first-ever captain of PWHL Montréal. She is photographed here alongside (left to right) GM Daniéle Sauvageau, assistant captains Erin Ambrose and Laura Stacey, and head coach Kori Cheverie. (Photo via @PWHL_Montreal/X)

Tonight, the PWHL Montréal franchise named its captains and the members of the team leadership group. To the surprise of absolutely no one, Marie-Philip Poulin will be the franchise's first captain.

Defender Erin Ambrose and forward Laura Stacey, both decorated mainstays on Team Canada, are the team's alternates.

Per Jared Book of Habs Eyes on the Prize, Kristin O'Neill will be the team's road alternate and Kati Tabin, Ann-Renée Desbiens, and veteran forward Ann-Sophie Bettez have all been named members of the leadership group.

Of course, Poulin, 32, is the captain of Team Canada. She is also the best player in the world and a celebrated leader and clutch performer. Let's be honest, this is very much her team and it will be for the remainder of her playing career. Poulin was the natural choice for captain and the same can be said of her supporting cast and their own leadership roles.

The size of this leadership group illustrates how much experience and influence this veteran PWHL Montréal squad has at its disposal. That will be a boon to rookies Claire Dalton, Mariah Keopple, Maureen Murphy, and Madison Bizal as they navigate their first pro seasons and develop into players Montréal can build around in the coming years.