Loren Gabel wins the 2019 Patty Kazmaier Award

Gabel is the 22nd winner of the Patty Kaz.

Clarkson University’s Loren Gabel has won the 2019 Patty Kazmaier Memorial Award, which has been given annually to the top player in NCAA Division I women’s ice hockey since 1998. This year, for the first time, the winner of college hockey’s most revered individual award was announced live on television on the NHL Network. Today’s announcement was made in front of a sold-out crowd in Hamden, Connecticut at Quinnipiac University.

Q&A with Clarkson’s Loren Gabel

Gabel is the 22nd winner of the Patty Kaz. This year she led the nation in goals (4) and finished second in scoring behind her Golden Knights teammate Elizabeth Giguère. Furthermore, 23 of Gabel’s 28 assists in her senior year were primary. Gabel also led the nation with an average of 7.29 shots on goal per-game and an amazing 11 game-winning goals in 38 games.

Gabel was selected in the NWHL Draft this year by the Buffalo Beauts. The native of Kitchener, Ontario finished her collegiate career at Clarkson with 213 points in 160 games.

The Last 10 Patty Kaz Winners

  • 2018 Daryl Watts, Boston College
  • 2017 Ann-Renee Desbiens, University of Wisconsin
  • 2016 Kendall Coyne, Northeastern University
  • 2015 Alex Carpenter, Boston College
  • 2014 Jamie Lee Rattray, Clarkson University
  • 2013 Amanda Kessel, University of Minnesota
  • 2012 Brianna Decker, University of Wisconsin
  • 2011 Meghan Duggan, University of Wisconsin
  • 2010 Vicki Bendus, Mercyhurst College
  • 2009 Jessie Vetter, University of Wisconsin/