How to Watch 2022 U18 Women’s World Championships

Watch the stars of tomorrow today!

For the first time since 2020, we can finally say: it’s time for the U18 World Championships!

The tournament has been a long time coming. Typically played in January, the 2021 and the initial 2022 tournaments were both cancelled due to COVID-19. The most recent cancellation of the 2022 tournament, which was set to be held in Sweden, drew a lot of outcry from the community for a variety of reasons. But eventually, the IIHF and USA Hockey agreed to host the tournament in Madison and Middleton, Wisconsin. And now, the time is here.

The US comes in as the “defending” championships, simply as they were the last ones to win back in 2020.


The eight countries are split between two groups based on IIHF standings. Group A — which will play their preliminary games at LaBahn Arena in Madison — is made up of the United States, Canada, Finland, and Sweden. Group B — which will play in Middleton — is Czechia, Switzerland, Germany, and Slovakia.

After the preliminary round, the top two teams in Group A will receive a bye into the semifinals. The third-place team in Group A will play the second-place team in Group B, and the fourth-place team in Group A will play the first-place in Group B. The third- and fourth-place teams from Group B will play a best-of-three relegation series.

The semifinal games will be decided with the highest-ranking team remaining playing the lowest-ranking team left (based on which group they came from and then where they fell in that group), and the middle two facing off. From there, the winners will move on to the medal games.

The quarterfinals, semifinals, and medal games will all be played in Madison, while the relegation games will take place in Middleton, Wisconsin.


6/6/20225 PM ETSlovakiaCzechMiddleton
6/6/20225 PM ETCanadaFinlandMadison
6/6/20229 PM ETSwitzerlandGermanyMiddleton
6/6/20229 PM ETSwedenUSAMadison
6/7/20225 PM ETCzechGermanyMiddleton
6/7/20225 PM ETCanadaSwedenMadison
6/7/20229 PM ETSwitzerlandSlovakiaMiddleton
6/7/20229 PM ETUSAFinlandMadison
6/9/20225 PM ETCzechSwitzerlandMiddleton
6/9/20225 PM ETFinlandSwedenMadison
6/9/20229 PM ETGermanySlovakiaMiddleton
6/9/20229 PM ETUSACanadaMadison
6/10/20225 PM ETreligationreligationMiddleton
6/10/20225 PM ETQFQFMadison
6/10/20229 PM ETQFQFMadison
6/12/20223:30 PM ETSFSFMadison
6/12/20223:30 PM ETreligationreligationMiddleton
6/12/20227:30 PM ETSFSFMadison
6/12/20227:30 PM ETfive v sixfive v sixMiddleton
6/13/20223:30 PM ETreligationreligationMiddleton
6/13/20224:30 PM ETBronzeBronzeMadison
6/13/20228:30 PM ETGoldGoldMadison

How to watch

USA: ESPN+ will carry all of Group A’s preliminary games LIVE. NHL Network will show a replay of the US’s games the next day at noon eastern.

The quarterfinal games will also be on EPSN+, with the semifinals and medal games to be determined. The gold medal game will air live NHL Network. USA Hockey said all USA games will be available on either EPSN+ or NHL Network live. HockeyTV will stream all of the games, except those being broadcast.

Canada: TSN will show all of Group A’s preliminary games LIVE as well as all of the quarterfinals, semifinals, and medal games.