Colgate, Minnesota-Duluth Duos, Plus Northeastern's Philips, Headline Goalie of the Year Semifinalists

The Women's Hockey Commissioners Association announced the semifinalists for GOY Wednesday, and it's one hell of a list.

Colgate, Minnesota-Duluth Duos, Plus Northeastern's Philips, Headline Goalie of the Year Semifinalists
Northeastern's Gwyneth Philips. (Photo featured @GONUwhockey on X/formerly Twitter)

Eleven semifinalists have made the cut for the 2024 National Goaltender of the Year award, as announced by the Women's Hockey Commissioners Association Wednesday.

In the running is repeat semifinalist and last year's winner, Gwyneth Philips of Northeastern, who is making a strong case for her second consecutive win with a .951 save percentage and five shutouts in 28 games played.

Clarkson's Michelle Pasiechnyk is also a semifinalist for a third straight year, after being nominated for the honor and making the semis in 2022 and 2023. Alongside her are two pairs of goalies, with Colgate's tandem of Hannah Murphy and Kayle Osborne competing for the award alongside Minnesota-Duluth's Eve Gascon and Hailey MacLeod. The Bulldogs duo, with a combined .950%, just edges out the Raiders' tandem (combined .944%), but these two schools remain the only ones to have both netminders considered for Goalie of the Year.

Sanni Ahola of St. Cloud State is strangely by her lonesome despite her counterpart in net, Jojo Chobak, boasting a .933 percentage and three shutouts in her 16 games played. For her own part, Ahola has been a huge asset between the pipes for the Minnesota-based Huskies, with a .947% and five shutouts of her own, plus multiple nods for HCA and WCHA Goaltender of the Month.

If I were a betting woman, I'd bet on Ahola multiple times over. I love her game, and I love the idea of a team like St. Cloud State getting some deserved shine for their defensive prowess over the past couple of seasons.

The full list of semifinalists, in alphabetical order, is as follows:

Sanni Ahola, St. Cloud State (WCHA)

Logan Angers, Quinnipiac (ECAC)

Eve Gascon, UMD (WCHA)

Tindra Holm, LIU (NEWHA)

Raygan Kirk, Ohio State (WCHA)

Hailey MacLeod, UMD (WCHA)

Hannah Murphy, Colgate (ECAC)

Kayle Osborne, Colgate (ECAC)

Michelle Pasiechnyk, Clarkson (ECAC)

Gwyneth Philips, Northeastern (Hockey East)

Megan Warrener, UConn (Hockey East)