clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

USA Hockey announces Patty Kazmaier Award finalists

List of finalists includes stars from Hockey East and the WCHA

NCAA HOCKEY: MAR 20 Div I Women’s Championship - Northeastern v Wisconsin Photo by Michael Longo/Icon Sportswire via Getty Images

USA Hockey announced the ten finalists for the Patty Kazmaier Award, given annually to the top Division I women’s college hockey player competing in the NCAA.

The finalists are as follows:

2022 Patty Kazmaier Award Finalists

Skylar Fontaine Defense Northeastern
Aerin Frankel Goaltender Northeastern
Alina Müller Forward Northeastern
Élizabeth Giguére Forward Minnesota Duluth
Taylor Heise Forward Minnesota
Gabbie Hughes Forward Minnesota Duluth
Sophie Jaques Defense Ohio State
Casey O'Brien Forward Wisconsin
Daryl Watts Forward Wisconsin
Theresa Schafzahl Forward Vermont

The list of finalists features six players from the WCHA and four from Hockey East, with no players from the ECAC, CHA, or NEWHA represented. Three of Hockey East’s four finalists compete for Northeastern, including 2021 Patty Kazmaier Award winner Aerin Frankel.

The top-three finalists for the award will be announced on March 17, and will be selected by a committee comprised of coaches, media members, and a representative from USA Hockey. The award will be presented on March 26.