clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

IIHF releases (new) schedule for 2021 World Championships

Just under one month until the tournament kicks off!

Goalkeeper Noora Raety of Finland makes a save beside Kelly Pannek of the United States during the IIHF Women’s Ice Hockey World Championships final match between the United States and Finland in Espoo, Finland, on April 14, 2019.
MIKKO STIG/AFP via Getty Images

Time to update your calendar! The 2021 IIHF World Championship schedule is here.

The 10-team tournament has twice been rescheduled and will now be held in Calgary starting on Aug. 20.

All but one of the group play days has three games and follows a basic schedule of games at 2 p.m. Eastern, 6 p.m. Eastern, and 9:30 p.m. Eastern. All five Group A teams and the top three Group B teams will advance to the quarterfinals. The bottom two Group B teams will not be relegated because none of the lower tournaments played this year, according to the IIHF.

The quarterfinal winners will advance to the semifinals, as usual, and then those winners will move onto the medal games. The quarterfinal losers will play knockout placement games with the winner claiming first place and moving up into Group A for the next Worlds tournament.

Group A includes reigning champions USA, 2019’s silver medalist Finland, bronze medalist Canada, Russia (competing under Russian Olympic Committee, or ROC, because of doping), and Switzerland. Group B includes Japan, Czech Republic, Germany, Denmark, and Hungary.

The tournament starts on a Friday which, unfortunately, means medal games are on a Tuesday night rather than a Sunday.

So far, USA Hockey has announced all of their games will be broadcast live on NHL Network.

Some Games To Watch

  • The first day features a rematch of the 2019 semifinal game: Canada versus Finland on Friday, Aug 20 at 6 p.m. Eastern.
  • In Group B play, Germany versus Hungary on Saturday, Aug 21 at 2 p.m. should be fun match up to catch.
  • The bronze medal rematch game of Canada versus Russia will be Sunday, Aug 22 at 6 p.m. Eastern.
  • The 2019 gold medal game rematch between USA and Finland is Sunday, Aug 22 at 9:30 p.m. Eastern.
  • As always, the highly anticipated USA v Canada group play game is the final day of the round - Thursday, Aug 26 at 6 p.m. Eastern.


Friday Aug 20 2 p.m. CZE DEN B
Friday Aug 20 6 p.m. CAN FIN A
Friday Aug 20 9:30 p.m. SUI USA A
Saturday Aug 21 2 p.m. GER HUN B
Saturday Aug 21 6 p.m. RUS SUI A
Saturday Aug 21 9:30 p.m. DEN JPN B
Sunday Aug 22 2 p.m. HUN CZE B
Sunday Aug 22 6 p.m. CAN RUS A
Sunday Aug 22 9:30 p.m FIN USA A
Monday Aug 23 2 p.m. GER DEN B
Monday Aug 23 6 p.m. JPN CZE B
Tuesday Aug 24 2 p.m. USA RUS A
Tuesday Aug 24 6 p.m. SUI CAN A
Tuesday Aug 24 9:30 p.m. HUN JPN B
Wednesday Aug 25 2 p.m. RUS FIN A
Wednesday Aug 25 6 p.m. CZE GER B
Wednesday Aug 25 9:30 p.m. DEN HUN B
Thursday Aug 26 2 p.m. FIN SUI A
Thursday Aug 26 6 p.m. USA CAN A
Thursday Aug 26 9:30 p.m. JPN GER B
Saturday Aug 28 Noon Quarterfinal Quarterfinal medal
Saturday Aug 28 3:30 p.m. Quarterfinal Quarterfinal medal
Saturday Aug 28 7 p.m. Quarterfinal Quarterfinal medal
Saturday Aug 28 10:30 p.m. Quarterfinal Quarterfinal medal
Sunday Aug 29 3 p.m. Play 1 Play 1 medal
Sunday Aug 29 7 p.m. Play 2 Play 2 medal
Monday Aug 30 3 p.m. Semifinal Semifinal medal
Monday Aug 30 7 p.m. Semifinal Semifinal medal
Tuesday Aug 31 noon Play 3 Play 3 medal
Tuesday Aug 31 3:30 p.m. Bronze Bronze medal
Tuesday Aug 31 7:30 p.m. Gold Gold medal
Time is in eastern