2021 Patty Kazmaier Memorial Award Top 10 finalists announced

Daryl Watts makes the Top Ten for the third year and looks to take home her second award this year

USA Hockey announced the Top 10 Finalists for the 2021 Patty Kazmaier Memorial Award this morning. The award is distributed annually to the best Division I women’s college hockey player in the NCAA, and the winner will be announced virtually on March 27.

This year’s list holds much more variety than last year’s, with seven seniors, two juniors, and a freshman making it into the Top 10. Penn State rookie standout Kiara Zanon is the only underclassman to be named, and her program’s first Top 10 honoree.

Top 10 Finalists

NameYearPositionSchoolConferencePrevious Years
Skylar FontaineSeniorDefenderNortheasternHockey East
Aerin FrankelSeniorGoaltenderNortheasternHockey East2020 Top Ten
Élizabeth GiguèreSeniorForwardClarksonECAC2020 winner, 2019 Top Ten
Caitrin LonerganSeniorForwardClarksonECAC2018 Top Ten
Emma MaltaisSeniorForwardOhio StateWCHA2019 Top Ten
Alina MüllerJuniorForwardNortheasternHockey East2019, 2020 Top Ten
Sophie ShirleyJuniorForwardWisconsinWCHA2020 Top Ten
Daryl WattsSeniorForwardWisconsinWCHA2018 winner, 2018, 2020 Top Ten
Kiara ZanonFreshmanForwardPenn StateCHA
Grace ZumwinkleSeniorForwardMinnesotaWCHA

The past two years’ winners, Daryl Watts and Élizabeth Giguère, both make it onto the Top 10 one last time as seniors. If either wins, she would be only the second player in the award’s history to win twice, after Harvard’s Jen Botterill took the prize home in 2001 and 2003.

Goaltender Aerin Frankel also makes a strong case for herself and could become only the fourth goaltender to take home the award after leading Hockey East and the entire NCAA in goals against average (0.65), save percentage (0.971), and shutouts (8). She’s competing against two of her teammates in defender Skylar Fontaine and forward Alina Müller, both of whom have equally impressive stat lines this year and have played critical roles in their team’s success.

My sleeper pick for the award is the freshman Zanon, who is tied with Watts for second place in the NCAA in points and is second only to Grace Zumwinkle in game-winning goals. Zanon has been an integral piece on Penn State’s first ever regular season CHA champion squad, and has helped the program to finish the regular season with only its second winning record in program history. While her previous successes on the international stage does not factor into her chances, it’s worth noting that Zanon did have the overtime game-winning goal at the 2020 U-18 Women’s World Championship.

The Top 3 finalists and award winner will be announced at the end of March.