2019 NWHL Award winners

Beauts players win four of the six individual awards

Goaltender of the Year - Shannon Szabados (Buffalo Beauts)

NWHL announces finalists for 2019 Goaltender of the Year award

Szabados played a majority of the minutes in Buffalo. She finished the regular season with a goals against average of 1.49, a league best, and a save percentage of .934, which was second-best in the league. Szabados was named an All Star captain in her first season, posting a shutout in the first half of the game.

Defender of the Year - Blake Bolden (Beauts)

NWHL 2019 Defender of the Year finalists released

After playing in Switzerland last season, Bolden made her return to the NWHL this season where she made an immediate and obvious impact in Buffalo. She was tied for first in the league in points for defenders with 13 points (1g, 12a) and was fifth on the Beauts in points. Her 12 assists put her in second in the whole league. In her second All Star appearance, Bolden defended her Hardest Shot title.

Newcomer of the Year - Jonna Curtis (Minnesota Whitecaps)

NWHL announces Newcomer of the Year award, 2019 finalists

Curtis graduated from University of New Hampshire in 2016-17 where she was the Wildcats’ leading scorer in her last two seasons. The Minnesota native signed with her home team, and then she took the league by storm. Curtis finished the regular season with eight goals and 19 total points, leading the Whitecaps in both categories. She also finished in the top-five in points and goals for the league.

Most Valuable Player - Maddie Elia (Beauts)

NWHL 2019 MVP finalists released

In her sophomore season, Elia topped the league in goals scored with 12 as well as taking second in overall points to her Buffalo line mate, Hayley Scamurra. Like Marvin, Elia posted seven multi-point games and ended her season with a points per game average over one.

The Players’ Top Player - Hayley Scamurra (Beauts)

This award was voted on by the NWHLPA. In her third season in the league, Scumurra finished tied for second in goals with 10 on the season and first in points with 20, barely beating her teammate Elia.

Denna Laing Award - Jillian Dempsey

This is the second year in a row the Boston Pride captain Jillian Dempsey has won the award for “the player who most exemplifies the qualities of perseverance, sportsmanship and dedication to her sport.”

Fan’s Three Stars of the Season - Amanda Boulier (Whitecaps), Katerina Mrázová (Connecticut Whale), Madison Packer (Metropolitan Riveters)

The fans have spoken! According to the league, more than 7,000 fans voted for this season’s three stars. Boulier is in her third season with the league, and her first with the Whitecaps after she moved west after two seasons with the Whale. Mrázová was in her first season with the Whale and made an immediate impact, on and off the ice. Packer is an original NWHL and Riveter, who is obviously beloved by the fans.

NWHL Foundation Award - Kelly Babstock, Hannah Brandt, Sarah Hughson, Kimberly Sass, and Mallory Souliotis

The NWHL Foundation award is given annually to players who make a difference in their community and act as a role model. It given to one player per team.

The Goaltender of the Year, Defender of the Year, Newcomer of the Year, and MVP were voted on by a panel of 20 media members and broadcasters in cooperation with the Women’s Hockey Media Association.