How to Watch: 2019 IIHF World Championships

Nearly everything you need to know about this year’s Worlds tournament

After a year off due to the Olympics, the IIHF World Championships are back. We’ve got all the good stuff for you right here, including the schedule, how to watch, previews, and more.

This year is especially important because for the first time 10 teams will be competing.

How to watch

Where: Espoo, Finland

When: April 4 - 14

If you live on the eastern half of North America, you’re in luck! The time difference isn’t terrible — at least compared to the Olympics. The first game of the day is typically at 5:30 a.m. et (4:30 a.m. ct.). The last game of the day is typically at 12:30 p.m. et (11:30 a.m. ct).

Broadcast: We’ll update as we get more information on how to watch in each country.

  • US: NHL Network will be showing every Team USA game plus the semifinals, quarterfinals, and medal rounds. They will also show both Group A games on April 4, the first day.
  • Canada: TSN will have all of the Team Canada games plus the semifinals, quarterfinals, and medal rounds. Like NHL Network, they’ll also have both Group A games on the first day. It also looks like their schedule has various replays.
  • Finland: YLE is showing the Finnish matches and highlights that may include others./


The 10 teams are split into two groups of five teams. They play a round-robin preliminary round. Every team from Group A advances while only the top three teams from Group B move on to the quarterfinals. The bottom two Group B teams are automatically relegated to Division 1 Group A.

In the quarterfinals, the top team from Group A plays the third place Group B team. The second places team from each group plays each other while the third place Group A team plays the first place Group B team. The fourth and fifth place Group A teams play each other. The winner of each game moves on to the semifinals and then either the Bronze Medal game or the Gold Medal game.

Group A

Group B


All times are in eastern daylight. Winners of each game will be in italics.

Preliminary Round

Thursday, April 4

  • 5:30 a.m. - Sweden v Germany
  • 9 a.m - Canada v Switzerland
  • 11 a.m. - Japan v France
  • 12:30 p.m. - United States v Finland/

2019 Worlds: Day 1 recap

Friday, April 5

  • 9 a.m - France v Czech Republic
  • 12:30 p.m. - Switzerland v Russia/

2019 Worlds: Day 2 recap

Saturday, April 6

  • 5:30 a.m. - Czech Republic v Sweden
  • 9 a.m - Finland v Russia
  • 11 a.m. - Germany v Japan
  • 12:30 p.m. - Canada v United States/

2019 Worlds: Day 3 Recap

Sunday, April 7

  • 9 a.m - Sweden v France
  • 12:30 p.m. - United States v Switzerland/

2019 Worlds: Day 4 Recap

Monday, April 8

  • 5:30 a.m. - Czech Republic v Japan
  • 9 a.m - Switzerland v Finland
  • 11 a.m. - France v Germany
  • 12:30 p.m. - Russia v Canada/

2019 Worlds: Day 5 Recap

Tuesday, April 9

  • 5:30 a.m. - Japan v Sweden
  • 9 a.m - Russia v United States
  • 11 a.m. - Germany v Czech Republic
  • 12:30 p.m. - Finland v Canada/

2019 Worlds: Day 6 Recap


Thursday, April 11 - Quarterfinals

  • 5:30 a.m. - USA (A1) v Japan (B3)
  • 7 a.m -  Sweden (B4) v France (B5) ninth place game
  • 9 a.m. - Canada (A2) v Germany (B2)
  • 11 a.m. - Russia (A4) v Switzerland (A5)
  • 12:30 p.m. - Finland (A3) v Czech Republic (B1)/

2019 Worlds: Quarterfinals recap

Saturday, April 13 - Semifinals

  • 9 a.m. - Canada v Finland
  • 1 p.m. - USA v Russia/

Sunday, April 14 - Medals

  • Bronze - 9 a.m.
  • Gold - 1 p.m./


In 18 years of Worlds, no country other than Canada nor the United States has won gold or silver. Canada has won gold 10 teams while the United States has won eight, including the last four. Canada also holds the streak for longest consecutive gold medal wins, from 1990 through 2004. Finland has, by far and away, the most silver medals at 12.

Past winners

YearLocationGoldBronzeSilverFourth place
1990Canada, OttawaCanadaUnited StatesFinlandSweden
1992Finland, TampereCanadaUnited StatesFinlandSweden
1994USA, Lake PlacidCanadaUnited StatesFinlandChina
1997Canada, KitchenerCanadaUnited StatesFinlandChina
1999Finland, Espoo/VantaaCanadaUnited StatesFinlandSweden
2000Canada, MississaugaCanadaUnited StatesFinlandSweden
2001USA, MinneapolisCanadaUnited StatesRussiaFinland
2004Canada, Halifax/DartmouthCanadaUnited StatesFinlandSweden
2005Sweden, Linköping/NorrköpingUnited StatesCanadaSwedenFinland
2007Canada, Winnipeg/SelkirkCanadaUnited StatesSwedenFinland
2008China, HarbinUnited StatesCanadaFinlandSwitzerland
2009Finland, HämeenlinnaUnited StatesCanadaFinlandSweden
2011Switzerland, Zürich/WinterthurUnited StatesCanadaFinlandRussia
2012USA, BurlingtonCanadaUnited StatesSwitzerlandFinland
2013Canada, OttawaUnited StatesCanadaRussiaFinland
2015Sweden, MalmöUnited StatesCanadaFinlandRussia
2016Canada, KamloopsUnited StatesCanadaRussiaFinland
2017USA, PlymouthUnited StatesCanadaFinlandGermany

The tournament was not held in 2003 due to a SARS outbreak nor 2014 or 2018 due to the Olympics.