clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Welcome to the 2018 Four Nations Cup!

How to watch, schedule, and preview links, oh my!

Michelle Jay

International hockey is back!

The 2018 Four Nations Cup kicks off in Saskatoon, Sask., on Nov. 6 and wraps up on Nov. 10.

It’s a quick tournament, with each team only playing each other once in the preliminary rounds before the medal round, but it’s a fun chance to watch some elite international hockey. The next big tournament after Four Nations will be the IIHF Women’s World Championship, which is played in April.


United States

TIG Predictions
Q&A with Shannon Szabados

How to Watch

According to Hockey Canada, all preliminary games will be streamed on their site via HockeyTV. You can also find them on HockeyTV’s site with a free log in (unlike last year’s tournament where you needed a paid subscription). The Hockey Canada page that hosts the video also updates with stats which is neat!

The bronze and gold medal games will be broadcast via TSN. Based on TSN’s online schedule, the bronze will be on TSN3 while the gold will be on TSN.

As of right now, it looks like you need a paid log in to watch these online, at least for those who don’t have Canadian cable.

UPDATE: it appears that HockeyTV will be streaming the medal games for free.

An added bonus — if you’re nocturnal and missed Canada’s games, TSN2 will be playing them starting at midnight on Saturday, Nov. 10 (TSN actually has “Canada v Finland” listed for 7.5 straight hours so we’re assuming its three different games not one game three times over).


Tuesday, Nov. 6

USA v Finland - noon CST
USA won, 5 - 1
Goal by Goal

Canada v Sweden - 7 p.m. CST
Canada won, 6 - 2
Goal by Goal

Wednesday, Nov. 7

Finland v Sweden - 3 p.m. CST
Finland won, 3-2
Goal by Goal

Canada v USA - 7 p.m. CST
USA won, 2-1
Goal by Goal

Friday, Nov. 9

USA v Sweden - 3 p.m. CST
USA won, 5-1
Goal by Goal

Canada v Finland - 7:30 p.m. CST
Canada won, 3-0

Saturday, Nov. 10

Bronze Medal game - 3 p.m. CST
Finland v Sweden
Finland won, 4-2
Goal by Goal

Gold Medal Game - 8 p.m. CST
USA v Canada
USA won, 5-2
Goal by Goal


The short annual tournament has been played since 1996, though for the first four years it was the Three Nations Cup. The US didn’t participate in 2001. The location rotates between the four nations.

Sweden and Finland have never won gold and only once has Finland won silver (2013). The European nations have split bronze equally since all four countries have been involved at eight apiece.

Last year’s Four Nations Cup was played in Tampa, Fla., where Team USA was centralized. The US won gold over Canada while Finland beat Sweden for bronze.

Past Four Nation Cup Standings

Year - location Gold Silver Bronze
Year - location Gold Silver Bronze
2017 - Tampa, Florida United States Canada Finland
2016 - Vierumaki, Finland United States Canada Finland
2015 - Sundsvall, Sweden United States Canada Sweden
2014 - Kamloops, B.C. Canada United States Sweden
2013 - Lake Placid, N.Y. Canada Finland United States
2012 - Vantaa, Finland United States Canada Sweden
2011 - Nykoping, Sweden United States Canada Sweden
2010 - St. John's N.L. Canada United States Finland
2009 - Vierumaki, Finland Canada United States Sweden
2008 - Lake Placid, N.Y. United States Canada Sweden
2007 - Leksand, Sweden Canada United States Finland
2006 - Kitchener, Ontario Canada United States Sweden
2005 - Hameenlinna, Finland Canada United States Finland
2004 - Lake Placid, N.Y. Canada United States Sweden
2003 - Skovde, Sweden United States Canada Finland
2002 - Kitchener, Ontario Canada United States Finland
2000 - Provo, Utah Canada United States Finland
USA Hockey