2018 Windjammer Classic field announced

Syracuse, Minnesota, St. Lawrence join hosts Vermont in Burlington over Thanksgiving weekend

The field for the fourth annual Windjammer Classic was revealed in the WCHA composite schedule, and it will be a treat for women’s hockey fans.

The annual tournament always sees at least one team from all four leagues. The University of Vermont, as the hosts, will participate in the tournament once more, representing Hockey East. Joining them will be the Syracuse Orange from College Hockey America, Minnesota Golden Gophers from the WCHA, and St. Lawrence Saints from the ECAC.

All games will take place at Gutterson Fieldhouse in Burlington. The semifinals will be played Friday, Nov. 23. Minnesota will take on St. Lawrence while Vermont will host Syracuse.

The winners will face off the next night in the championship game, and the losers will play in a consolation game.

The inaugural Windjammer Classic took place in 2015; Boston University defeated Ohio State in the final. Clarkson won the 2016 edition, and Minnesota-Duluth won in 2017, both over the hosts.