2018 CWHL Award Winners

The stars shone bright at this year’s gala.

The 2018 CWHL Awards took place Friday March 23 at Toronto Centre for the Arts, hosted by Jennifer Botterill and Kate Beirness. This year’s ceremony was presented with the NHLPA acting as title sponsor.


Kelli Stack, Kunlun Red Star

Team USA who? The league’s top scorer took home MVP honors for her 49-point season that also won her the Angel James Bowl for regular-season scoring champion.

Angela James Bowl

Kelli Stack, Kunlun Red Star

Stack scored a league-leading 26 goals.

Jayna Hefford Trophy

Jamie Lee Rattray, Markham Thunder

Rattray’s career season earned her the Most Valuable Player award as voted on by her CWHL peers. She’s been an offensive force for the Thunder all season long and most of her production came at even-strength, which makes it that much more impressive.

Jamie Lee Rattray is on a mission

Defender of the Year

Cathy Chartrand, Les Canadiennes de Montréal

The 36-year-old Chartrand has been a model of both consistency and excellence for Les Canadiennes over the years. This season the veteran defender broke the 20-point mark for the first time since 2013-14.

Coach of the Year

Tomas Pacina, Calgary Inferno

After losing 11 marquee names like Brianne Jenner, Haley Irwin, and Meaghan Mikkelson to Olympic centralization in his first year behind Calgary’s bench, Pacina led the Inferno to a goal away from the Clarkson Cup Final.

Rookie of the Year

Sophie Shirley, Calgary Inferno

At just 18 years old, Shirley put together an impressive 19-point performance and propelled her name into the league stratosphere. She’d headed to the NCAA and the University of Wisconsin next year.

Goaltender of the Year

Noora Räty, Kunlun Red Star

This one was kind of a no-brainer. The world’s best goaltender added yet another accolade to her resumé after playing the vast majority of Kunlun’s games and posting a .944 save percentage in the process. KRS’s only qualified goaltender - the only one to play over 540 minutes, as the CWHL stats qualify goaltenders - earned 10 shutouts and backstopped her team all the way to the Clarkson Cup Final.

Humanitarian Award

Brad Morris